Links

Journey settings

This article describes general settings for customer journeys

Campaign settings

Campaign settings allow you to set rules that apply to the entire Journey. You can find these settings on the top panel of the journey creation window.

Conversion Goals

Conversion Goals let you measure the effectiveness of your customer journey. A Goal is a target Event indicating that the customer reaches the marketing objective you set. To define the journey's goals, press the Conversion Goals button at the top of the page.
Then, choose the Event you consider the indicator of the journey's success.
To specify the Event's attributes, press the Add condition button. Choose an attribute, operator, and value(s).
To cancel remaining messages once a user reaches a Conversion Goal, check the End journey after this event checkbox. Messages that haven't been sent to the moment the goal is reached won't be sent to the customer who reached the goal.
When several goals are set, a user who reaches any of them ends the journey at that point.
Press Apply to save the goal setup.
When the journey is active, press the Conversion Goals button to see the stats:
For each element users can reach the goal at, the count of goals reached is displayed in the element's statistics shown by hovering the journey element over.

Silent Hours

To prevent users from receiving messages at inconvenient times, set Silent Hours, during which no notifications or emails will be sent to Customer Journey participants. For this, simply click Silent Hours at the top of the page.
The Silent Hours Button
Next, define the do-not-disturb period in a 24-hour format. That period will repeat at the same time every day in the subscriber's device timezone.
You can also specify the days of the week for which you want to pause sending messages. Messages will be completely paused on the chosen day. This means if you pause message delivery for Tuesday, and a user enters Silent Hours from 10:00 PM Monday to 7:00 AM Tuesday, they will not receive any messages until Wednesday morning.
Setting Silent Hours
For each channel, you can set its own hours and days of Silent Hours and define the behavior logic when a message enters Silent Hours.
Setting Silent Hours for different channels
There are three options for what will happen when silent hours end:
  • Send when Silent Hours End: Users will get the message when Silent Hours end.
  • Cancel Message and Move Forward: Users will not receive the message and will immediately proceed down the Customer Journey.
  • Cancel Message, Then Forward Post-Silent Hours: Users won't receive the message, and they won't progress in the Campaign until Silent Hours end.
Options for ending Silent Hours

Frequency Capping

As some Events that start journeys can repeat from time to time (even several times a day) and audience segments are updated regularly, you might consider not overwhelming users with messages sent through the journeys. Here, Frequency Capping comes in handy – define how many times a particular person can enter the journey within a specified period.
Let’s say a user has added a product to their cart, thus starting the journey. If no capping is applied, that same user will enter the journey again if they add another product after exiting the journey. To prevent users from entering the same active journey too often, set the Frequency Capping rules.
Set Frequency Capping to let users go through the journey:
  • Once in a lifetime (user will enter the journey only once ever);
  • Once a day (24 hours);
  • Once a week (7 days);
  • Once a month (30 days);
  • Once in three months (90 days).
Frequency Capping periods are counted off from the moment a user enters the journey.
In the example below, a user gets in the journey when adding a product to their shopping cart. If they trigger the same Event within 24 hours after entering the journey, they will not re-enter.

Actions with journeys

Launch

Once the journey is set up, press the Launch campaign button at the top right of the journey canvas. From that moment, the journey starts tracking users' behaviors and sending messages to them.

Edit

Both draft and active journeys can be edited. By updating journey settings and elements' content, you can test the effectiveness of your communications, edit accidental errors, or adjust your customer journeys to some special events, changing conditions, and updated needs.

Simplify the Journey layout for better readability

For a better and more visually appealing view of your Customer Journey, utilize the Simplify Layout button.
This feature enables you to enhance your complex multi-step campaigns' visual structure and readability, making them easier to follow.
You can revert to the initial visualization within 30 seconds if needed. After that, you won't be able to revert the changes.

Clone

Any journey can be cloned, including all the elements and settings. Cloning journeys might be helpful in the following cases:
  • You want to prepare a sample journey to re-use it later by customizing its parts for a specific goal or case.
  • You want to launch a journey that has been deactivated. Since a deactivated journey cannot be reactivated, you can clone it first and then launch its copy.
To create a copy, press the Clone option in the action menu next to the journey's name in the list.

Deactivate

To stop an active journey, click Stop campaign.
Please note that once a campaign is deactivated, it cannot be reactivated.
The campaign will be marked as Inactive in the campaigns list:

Archive

If you have many inactive journeys, you can archive them to keep the campaign list easy to navigate. Archived journeys can be cloned just like campaigns from the main list.
Please note that archived campaigns cannot be returned to the main list and will be stored in the archive forever.
To open the list of archived journeys, click Show Archive: